Frequently asked questions
Yes you can! Registering your email address is optional, but setting it will help friends to find you, and will allow you to reset your password if you forget it.
We will use your username to create an ID (ZT-ID) allowing to disambiguate you from others with the same display name. It will allow us to keep your email confidential.
You certainly can! Registering your phone number is optional, but setting it will help your friends to find you. Password reset is not supported via mobile.
Simple, just drag the file into chat and it will automatically upload. Alternatively you can click on the arrow icon in the text input field and browse your filesystem. You can send anything up to 50MB.
You can invite a contact by clicking on the "Share" button and sending them a QR code or a link to a room by clicking on which they can join without even having registered. You can also share the link in social networks..
Yes! ZeroTen shows who has read a message by displaying their avatar to the right of the message.
Click on the magnifying glass located near the top of the screen. You can then type in a keyword or filename you are searching for. Also you have the ability to select whether you want the search to search the specific chat room you are in or across all conversations.
Click on the gear in the message (on the left) and select the actions you need.
Click the gear icon in the lower-left corner of the screen (on the color bar). From here you can change your account and the general settings of ZeroTen.
ZeroTen allows you to customise your notifications at two levels: across the app and per room.You can configure how you will be notified for given events by default in your Settings: you can configure keywords, default notification settings for group, one-to-one chat rooms, invites and calls. The notifications can be:– Turned off: you won’t be notified when the selected event happens.– Turned on: you will get a message popping up when the selected event happens, but not sound.– “Noisy”: you will get a visual highlight (red badge and/or text highlight), a sound and/or vibration (depending on the device) when the selected event happens.Then for finer tuning, you can easily configure per room notification setting from the context menu you get by clicking on the (…) icon that appears when hovering over the room name in the room list. This is very handy when you wish to temporarily mute a room, or make sure you’re not missing anything from a given discussion. You can select the following options:– Mute: you won’t be notified, even if your name or a keyword is mentioned.– Mentions only: you will be notified for the items that are meant to be ‘noisy’, by default your name and keywords.– All messages: you will get a (silent) notification for every message happening in the room; your ‘noisy’ events (e.g. your name being mentioned) will still be noisy (red badge and sound).– All messages (Loud): every message will make a noise on top of the visual notification. Your noisy events will still be differentiated by a red badge.
If you have forgotten your password don’t worry! Just visit site and click on the link ‘Forgot your password’. Next input your email address which is registered to your Riot account and choose a new password. You will then be sent an email asking you to confirm your request to reset your password. Please follow the link in the email to complete the process and regain access to your account.Note that if you haven’t set an email address we won’t be able to reset your password.We should emphasise that setting an email is not just useful to notify you but also for the security process and to make it easier for your contacts to find you.
You can change the preferences for any one-to-one chat or group room by clicking on the cog icon next to the room name.
You can restrict the access of a room to people who have been nominately invited by selecting the “Only people who have been invited” option in the room settings. People knowing the link of the room won’t be able to access it if an invite hasn’t been explicitly sent to their email or ID.
You can restrict the access of a room to people with whom you shared a link to the room by selecting the “Anyone who knows the room link” option in the room settings. Selecting this option will not make the room publicly visible to the rest of the community.
ВYou can publish your room in the catalog of your server by checking the box "Publish this room in the room directory". However, you can join it only if you do not restrict access to invited people.
If your room is listed in the directory, people will know it exists but they will only be able to join it if you allowed the access to it to anyone knowing the link.
It depends on how you configured the history visibility for the room. By default every member of the room can read its history. But you can decide that new joiners will only see the history they are part of, i.e. members will be able to see the history of the room since they were invited (or joined, both options are available) only.However it is important to note that these settings are not retroactive and only apply from the time they are selected: if you have a discussion with the history being visible to every member since the start, then change it to discuss an important matter so that people only see the history from the time they joined, new members will have access to all the history before you changed the option.
By default the room has an ugly identifier which is barely human readable. Setting an address for a room allows you to give it a simple reference making it easier to share a link to it. The addresses are linked to the server you are registered (e.g. 010.az if your ID is @username:010.az). A room can have different addresses on the same home server and addresses on different home servers. They are just a user friendly entry point, but are required the moment you want to make the room accessible in other ways than by inviting users.
In the room’s settings you’ll be able to configure if the members (and which of them) can ban members, kick members, redact messages, invite new members, send events.
“How Secure is 256-bit encryption?” “Is 256-bit encryption enough?” These are two of the most frequently asked questions when it comes to encryption level. Let us clarify once and for all: it’s more than enough. There’s a very solid reason behind our radiating confidence, and that’s called ‘Mathematics.’
The best way to crack an encryption key and that is ‘brute-forcing,’ trial & error in simple terms. So, if the key length is 256-bit, there would be 2256 possible combinations, and a hacker must try most of 2255 possible combinations before arriving at the conclusion (Typically, it takes around 50% keys to get the right combination).
On paper, 2256 may seem like a normal number, but don’t you dare underestimate its power. 256-bit will have 115,792,089,237,316,195,423,570,985,008,687,907,853,269,984,665,640,564,039,457,584,007,913,129,639,936 (78 digits) possible combinations. No Super Computer on the face of this earth can crack this.
Even if you use Tianhe-2 (MilkyWay-2), the fastest supercomputer in the world, it will take millions of years to crack the 256-bit encryption.